Residential Program

The Five Basic Skills

The Five Basic Skills are the first areas of learning for children in the Residential Program. The following skills can be built upon to advance skils at a pace that is manageable for students. We want students to strive to meet their highest potential.

The Five Basic Skills are as follows:

  1. Follow Instructions  – look at the person, say “OK”, do the task immediately, and check back when the task is completed
  2. Accepting “No” for an Answer – look at the person, say “OK”, stay calm, if you disagree, ask later
  3. Accepting Criticism or Consequences – look at the person, say “OK” and don’t argue
  4. Asking Permission - look at the person, use a pleasant tone of voice, say, "May I...", accept the answer calmly.
  5. Disagreeing Appropriately – look at the person, use a pleasant tone of voice, say, “I understand how you feel about…”, tell why you feel differently, give a reason, listen to the other person, accept the decision

The House Parent Role

House parents serve as role models for children on basic social skills and how to interact appropriately with each other. House parents give one-on-one attention as needed and are ready to listen when children are excited or discouraged about issues in their lives. House parents are aware of the children’s problems and work to meet the challenges in constructive ways. This might include taking care of a sick child in the middle of the night, answering questions before bedtime or just providing reassurance to soothe concerns about the future, homesickness or other fears. Typically, children just need a caring adult to talk to and take the time to listen.

House parents strive to develop strong partnerships with families by offering support, guidance and education, not only for the students but for family members as well. Friday pick-ups and Sunday drop-offs provide a time for parents/guardians and house parents to build a relationship and discuss any issues children may be experiencing as well as how to address them as a team. Parents receive weekly reports, known as “Friday Folders”, that illustrate the positive behavior and any challenging behavior that the student struggled with during the week. Glenwood’s model is unique not only because it is a ‘boarding school’ for at-risk children, but also because it reinforces the significance of the parent’s role and the importance of preserving the family.

 

House Parents

Clayton & Angela Berkey
Campbell A Cottage
wpugh@glenwoodschool.org
jpugh@glenwoodschool.org

Clayton & Angela Berkey
Campbell B Cottage
cberkey@glenwoodacademy.org
aberkey@glenwoodacademy.org

Grant & Tonisha Allison
England Cottage
gallison@glenwoodacademy.org
tallison@glenwoodacademy.org

Dan & Sarah Booth
Johnson A Cottage
dbooth@glenwoodacademy.org
sbooth@glenwoodacademy.org

Selmo & Christina Reis
Johnson B Cottage
sreis@glenwoodschool.org
creis@glenwoodschool.org

Eric & Hope Dixon
Trees Cottage
edixon@glenwoodacademy.org
hdixon@glenwoodacademy.org

Bill & Mary Hill
Ryerson Cottage
bhill@glenwoodacademy.org
mhill@glenwoodacademy.org

 

Melvin, Jr. & Lenise Mason
Rathje
mmason@glenwoodacademy.org
lmason@glenwoodacademy.org

Craig & Cozetta Pugh
Kauffmann A Cottage
cpugh@glenwoodschool.org
kpugh@glenwoodschool.org

Casey & Caroline Adams
Kauffmann B Cottage
caadams@glenwoodacademy.org
cadams@glenwoodschool.org

Jonathan & Roni Bradley
Scarborough A Cottage
jbradley@glenwoodschool.org
rbradley@glenwoodschool.org

Alvin & Sarah Ellis
Scarborough B Cottage
aellis@glenwoodacademy.org
sellis@glenwoodschool.org

James & Bridgette Schell
Straus Cottage
jschell@glenwoodacademy.org
bschell@glenwoodschool.org

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2014 Glenwood Academy. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use