Academic Program

Academic Program

Glenwood’s on-campus elementary and junior high schools enroll students in grades three through eight. The schools are staffed by teachers proficient in their subject areas with first-hand knowledge of our students’ needs. The average class size is 12-15 students, which allows children to receive individualized attention and support. The well-rounded curriculum of the academic program includes math, English, science and social studies with additional opportunities in technology, physical education, languages and art.

The Learning Resource Center

Glenwood first developed the Learning Resource Center (LRC) to serve the special learning needs of students accepted for admission who need individualized or small group instruction in order to meet their academic potential. Over 50 percent of Glenwood students experience gaps in knowledge due to learning disabilities, frequent school changes and/or attending a low-performing, under-funded school. The LRC provides diagnostic, academic, speech, enrichment and remedial services for students as well as helps regular classroom teachers modify instruction to each child’s particular learning style. Through Glenwood’s Learning Resource Center, students experience academic gains ranging from 6 – 12 months in deficient areas such as math, reading and language arts within their first year of enrollment and continue to make gains throughout their stay.

Academic Affairs Staff

Colleen Conlan-Carter, Vice President of Academic Affairs
cconlan-carter@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Anne Budicin, Director of Education
abudicin@glenwoodacdemy.org
 
Anthony Corsello, Academic Dean
tcorsello@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Vicki Schmidt, Administrative Assistant
vschmidt@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Elementary
Savannah Riley, Grade 3
sriley@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Mariah Kraus, Grade 4
mkraus@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Anne Nicholls, Grade 5
anicholls@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Junior High
Janet Hadnott, Science 
jhadnott@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Kanika Johnson
kjohnson@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Pat Johnson, Language Arts
pjohnson@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Jeff McMillan, Band/Music Director
jmcmillan@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Alex Russell, Mathematics
arussell@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Vincent Smith, Art
vsmith@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Karen Weldon, Social Studies
kweldon@glenwoodacademy.org
 
Phyllis Naumann, Librarian
pnaumann@glenwoodacademy.org
 
 
 

 

Copyright © 2014 Glenwood Academy. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use