Programs

Glenwood’s high quality individualized academic and boarding program reflects our mission to serve good children from challenging circumstances and provides them with opportunities to grow and succeed. Glenwood’s academic and boarding program complement each other around the needs of the students. Teachers, houseparents, and administrative staff work together to comprehensively address any issues a child might have in school or in the boarding program. 

Since 1887, Glenwood Academy has provided a relevant and necessary service to children. The Academy owes its longevity and continuing support to its ability to adapt to changing times and the emerging needs of society.

Three examples of Glenwood’s ability to meet the changing needs of children and their families include:  academic programboarding programenrichment and recreation activities.

Impact

Seniors Entering a Two or Four Year College - 100%
All seniors from our classes of 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 have entered into a two or four year college after graduating from the Glenwood high school program.

Addressing the Achievement Gap - 45%
Half of the students entering Glenwood test 2-3 years behind in at least one subject. Through our individualized learning approach, 45% achieve above average academic gains (12 months+) in our 9-month academic year.

Eighth Graders on Track For High School - 100%
Students successfully graduating from 8th grade and are prepared for high school.

Participation in Extracurricular Activities - 100%
Students are offered a variety of recreation and enrichment opportunities, which lead to a better connection to school and therefore a better chance to succeed.

 

Academic Affairs

Dr. Colleen Conlan-Carter
Vice President of Academic Affairs and Student Services
cconlan-carter@glenwoodacademy.org

Teaching Staff

Vicki Schmidt
Administrative Assistant/Secretary
vschmidt@glenwoodacademy.org

Anne Budicin
Director of Resource
abudicin@glenwoodacademy.org

Tony Corsello
Academic Dean
tcorsello@glenwoodacademy.org

Hitomi Oum
Academic Counselor
houm@glenwoodacademy.org

Karen Weldon
Resource Teacher
kweldon@glenwoodacademy.org

Janet Hadnott
Science
jhadnott@glenwoodacademy.org

Kanika Johnson
Technology Integration Coordinator
kjohnson@glenwoodacademy.org

Pat Johnson
Language Arts
pjohnson@glenwoodacademy.org

Mariah Kraus
Grade 4
mkraus@glenwoodacademy.org

Jeff McMillin
Band/Music Director
jmcmillin@glenwoodacademy.org

Anne Nicholls
Grade 5
anicholls@glenwoodacademy.org

Savannah Riley
Grade 3 
sriley@glenwoodacademy.org

Alex Russell
Mathematics
arussell@glenwoodacademy.org

Vincent Smith
Art/KidShop Teacher
vsmith@glenwoodacademy.org

 

 

 

Residential Services

Monique Turner
Director of Residential Services
mturner@glenwoodacademy.org

Karen Davis
Associate Director of Admissions
kdavis@glenwoodacademy.org

Bill Hill
Student Activity Manager
bhill@glenwoodacademy.org

Cassandra Moore
Data and Program Administrator
cmoore@glenwoodacademy.org

 

Houseparents

Willie & Jewel Pugh
Campbell A Cottage
wpugh@glenwoodacademy.org
jpugh@glenwoodacademy.org

Clayton & Angela Berkey
Campbell B Cottage
cberkey@glenwoodacademy.org
aberkey@glenwoodacademy.org

Grant & Tonisha Allison
England Cottage
gallison@glenwoodacademy.org
tallison@glenwoodacademy.org

Dan & Sarah Booth
Johnson A Cottage
dbooth@glenwoodacademy.org
sbooth@glenwoodacademy.org

Jerry & Jennifer Morales
Johnson B Cottage
jmorales@glenwoodacademy.org
jenmorales@glenwoodacademy.org

Craig & Kozetta Pugh
Kauffmann A Cottage
cpugh@glenwoodacademy.org
kpugh@glenwoodacademy.org

Derek & Tiffany Reed
Kauffmann B Cottage
dreed@glenwoodacademy.org
treed@glenwoodacademy.org 

Gerald & Beverly Mundy
Peck Cottage
gmundy@glenwoodacademy.org
bmundy@glenwoodacademy.org  

Melvin & Lenice Mason
Rathje Cottage
mmason@glenwoodacademy.org
lmason@glenwoodacademy.org

Bill & Mary Hill
Ryerson Cottage
bhill@glenwoodacademy.org
mhill@glenwoodacademy.org

Sarah & Alvin Ellis
Scarborough B Cottage
sellis@glenwoodacademy.org
aellis@glenwoodacademy.org 

James & Bridgette Schell
Straus Cottage
jschell@glenwoodacademy.org
bschell@glenwoodacademy.org

David & Marleny Hewchuk
Trees Cottage
dhewchuk@glenwoodacademy.org
mhewchuk@glenwoodacademy.org

 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2014 Glenwood Academy. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use